The strange Scout

Author: Charlotte Otaared

It really has been stressful the last 48 hours. I couldn’t sleep due to the fact, that the market has been very volatile the last days and I am to ambitious to miss low prices. So I have been buying and adjusting buy-orders all the time between my appointments with haulers, industrialists and directors of corporations who are interested in our services.

I am kind of old fashioned when it comes to business. I could sit all day in my office, or could fly around in a nice ship and do everything I need to do via the market and contract system. but I like to meet people with whom I do business and I’ve programmed me a alert-system, that notices me if any of my business partners enter the Amarr system.

A suspect appointment

I then convo them and ask if there have time for a small chat. Most of them agree and so I have full schedule all the day. But it pays off. Face to face communication is a rare form of communication these days and it helps a lot to strengthen business relationship and increase the reliability of my contractors. And for me it’s a really nice deviation to be with other people.

In the early morning hours I have received a request of a professionel scout, who offered me his services. He told me that he has watched the market and contract system thoroughly and noticed, that I trade a lot of expense stuff down to low-sec. Well – our business starts to draw attention. Not only a good news …

We make an appointment at my hangar and in the moment I arrived there I immediately thought, that it maybe was a bad idea to meet him here, where a lot of people can see us. I don’t know who he is, what reputation he has and if he is known for his services. Maybe others who will see me with him, well guess I am in trouble or something … Amarr is like a small village, in terms of gossip and intrigues. And a good reputation is essential when you are in our business.

I noticed that he is a Caldari at the moment I came closer – what surprised me, cause on this profile picture he looked much more than a Amarr … maybe a confusion – but anyway: honestly he looked awful – he hided his face under a big hood and seemed to be nervous. But why?

I welcomed him, he looked in my eyes, gave me something in my hands and said that I should be very careful with what I do – that I draw to much attention to me, that I violate the rules and if I would need any help, I should just read what he has given to me. He mumbled that this wouldn’t be a good place to talk longer and he suddenly went away hectically.

Everything happened pretty fast and I haven’t had the chance to reply to what he said before he disappeared. While I was watching in the direction he has left to see if I can indicate where he is going, my pad starting blinking. A new mail from Barachan. I scanned his mail and it seemed to be urgent.

This “scout” scared me a lot and I decided to leave this station – now – to think about what he said and to read what he has given me. I went to my shuttle and set my destination to Jita. I decided to visit somebody I haven’t seen for a long time now …

6 Responses to “The strange Scout”


  1. 1 SuperSarge January 29, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    this confused me quite a bit.

  2. 2 Otaared January 29, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    why? … what?

  3. 3 General Vordon January 30, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Maybe the spelling….Gotta work on your spelling Bara 😉

  4. 4 General Vordon January 30, 2008 at 3:49 am

    Charlotte youve gotta try those nice AT-564 series shuttles! State of the art and quite roomy! If you ever are gonna fly a ship not in a pod, but in a cockpit, those are the shuttles to get…..i can almost smell that newly synthesized leather cushions (synthesized because actual leather ran out about 500 years ago when domestic cows became extinct)

    of course those are expensive for shuttles, costing around 12-30 thousand kredits but they are well worth it. I suggest flying it cockpit style in ONLY high security space because if your destroyed in one your not in a pod 😉

  5. 5 http://denicebermude.blog.fc2.com September 2, 2013 at 11:44 am

    It’s hard to find educated people about this subject,
    however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!

    Thanks


  1. 1 In the line of fire « Otaared’s Eve Trackback on January 31, 2008 at 6:51 pm

Leave a Reply

